NorthStark
Home/Categories/AI Support Agents ("AI Employees")

Best AI Support Agents ("AI Employees")

Autonomous AI agents that handle full support conversations end-to-end across channels, not just a single chat widget.

Botpress logo

Botpress

4.3

The open-source-born, developer-first AI agent platform that raised $25M at a $120M valuation in 2025 — genuinely excellent reviews, offset by the category's most consistently reported steep learning curve.

$0 (Pay-as-you-go, 500 messages/mo, $5 monthly AI credit)Trending
Heyy logo

Heyy

4.3

Hire an AI Employee that actually works your inbox, not just a chatbot widget bolted onto your site.

$49/month (Hobby plan, billed monthly; heyy.io/pricing shows a discounted annual rate, and Chatimize's review lists the annual-equivalent as ~$41/month)Trending
Cognigy (acquired by NICE — now NiCE Cognigy) logo

Cognigy (acquired by NICE — now NiCE Cognigy)

4.2

A Düsseldorf-built, voice-first enterprise conversational AI platform acquired by NICE for ~$955M in 2025 — genuinely excellent reviews, best-in-class API extensibility, and real payment-processing capability, built for large contact centers rather than SMB storefronts.

Not publicly disclosedTrending
Ada logo

Ada

4.1

A Toronto-built, enterprise-grade 'Agentic Customer Experience' platform with genuinely excellent independent reviews (G2: 4.6/5, 173 reviews) and deep CRM/analytics depth — built for large enterprises with Salesforce or Zendesk, not SMB ecommerce storefronts.

Not publicly disclosedTrending
Respond.io logo

Respond.io

4.1

The Malaysia-based omnichannel messaging platform that pivoted from a chatbot startup into a 12-channel AI conversation hub, backed by $62.5M and genuine RAG-based hallucination controls.

$79/mo (Starter, 5 users, billed monthly; $948/yr with 20% annual discount)Trending
YourGPT logo

YourGPT

4.0

A genuinely broad, no-code AI agent platform from Delta4 Infotech with strong G2 sentiment (4.7/5) and deep automation depth — undercut by a confusing credit-metered pricing model and a real discrepancy between its own pricing page and its G2 listing.

$39/mo (Essential, annual billing, per vendor's own pricing page)
Kore.ai logo

Kore.ai

4.0

An Orlando-and-Hyderabad enterprise agentic AI platform with genuinely sophisticated multi-agent orchestration, deep CCaaS/CRM integration, and consistently strong reviews across three independent platforms — built for large regulated enterprises, not SMB storefronts.

Not publicly disclosed
Gorgias logo

Gorgias

4.0

The Shopify-native helpdesk born from a Chrome extension, priced by ticket volume instead of seats, with an AI agent that can actually issue refunds.

$10/mo (Starter, 50 tickets)Trending
Re:amaze logo

Re:amaze

4.0

The GoDaddy-owned ecommerce helpdesk that writes and edits Shopify orders directly inside the chat window, priced to undercut the category's bigger names.

$29/mo (Basic, per user) or $59/mo flat (Starter, unlimited team members, 500 conversations/mo cap)
Haptik logo

Haptik

4.0

The 2013 personal-assistant chatbot that Reliance Jio bought for ~$100M in 2019 and turned into a six-agent enterprise AI platform growing from $500K to $35M ARR — pricing entirely opaque, capability genuinely enterprise-grade.

Not published; third-party estimates suggest entry deals from ~$5,000/year
Zowie logo

Zowie

3.9

A Warsaw-born ecommerce specialist that has repositioned into a general enterprise AI agent platform, with a genuinely clever hallucination-prevention architecture and deep Shopify integration — though its review sentiment carries a real reliability caveat worth knowing about.

Not publicly disclosed
Decagon logo

Decagon

3.9

A San Francisco AI customer service platform that raised $250M at a $4.5B valuation in early 2026 — a genuinely sophisticated, multi-layered hallucination-control stack and enthusiastic early reviews, tempered by thin review volume and real reviewer-reported transparency concerns.

Not publicly disclosedTrending
Freshdesk logo

Freshdesk

3.9

The ticketing system that started Freshworks in 2010 as a cheaper Zendesk — now an email-first helpdesk with AI billed by the session on top.

$0 (Free, capped at 2 agents); $19/agent/mo for the first paid tier
Gladly logo

Gladly

3.8

The helpdesk built around people instead of tickets — one lifelong conversation per customer across every channel, priced like an enterprise retail platform.

Not published; third-party estimates put the entry tier around $180/agent/month with a 10-agent minimum
SleekFlow logo

SleekFlow

3.8

The Hong Kong conversational-commerce platform with a self-healing knowledge base that finds its own gaps — backed by Alibaba and Tiger Global, with pricing that's genuinely hard to pin down.

Reportedly ~$62/mo (Startup, ~£49) up to a free trial-oriented plan capped at 50 contactsTrending
Voiceflow logo

Voiceflow

3.7

The Alexa-era conversational-design platform turned enterprise agentic-AI builder — genuinely best-in-class flow-building and API extensibility, undercut by opaque pricing, a real multi-language limitation, and inconsistent support.

Free trial available; Pro tier reportedly starts around $60/month per third-party sources (unverified)
Charles logo

Charles

3.7

A Berlin conversational-commerce platform born from a sustainable fashion brand's own WhatsApp marketing software, now backed by Salesforce Ventures and priced for six-figure annual budgets.

Not published; third-party estimates suggest ~€349/month plus variable usage costs as an entry point
Forethought (acquired by Zendesk) logo

Forethought (acquired by Zendesk)

3.6

A San Francisco AI customer support suite acquired by Zendesk in March 2026 — genuinely comprehensive CRM integration and real Shopify/refund depth, undercut by no documented hallucination controls and a self-admitted weak spot in its own flagship analytics product.

Not publicly disclosed
Twilio Flex logo

Twilio Flex

3.6

The fully programmable contact center from a $5B-revenue public company — genuinely powerful, but built on the assumption that a developer sits between you and almost every change.

$1/active-user-hour, or $35+/monthly active user (plus usage), or $150/named user/month
Gallabox logo

Gallabox

3.6

An affordable Indian WhatsApp commerce platform with genuinely broad ecommerce-and-payments integrations — and a real, unresolved question mark over customer support quality.

~$23/mo (Starter, 3 users, single WhatsApp number)
Verloop.io logo

Verloop.io

3.6

An 80-language, voice-and-chat AI automation platform just acquired by Nurix AI in July 2026 — genuinely strong reviews, real integration gaps, and a fresh corporate transition still unfolding.

Not currently published; older sources cite a free Starter tier (max 500 chats)
Sierra logo

Sierra

3.5

Bret Taylor and Clay Bavor's premium enterprise AI agent platform, valued at $15.8B in its May 2026 Series E — genuinely sophisticated architecture and real Fortune-50 traction, undercut by unusually thin public documentation of even basic CRM integrations for a company at this scale.

Not publicly disclosedTrending
Groove (now Helply) logo

Groove (now Helply)

3.5

The small-team shared inbox that rebranded into a B2B AI-native support platform in 2026 — the old product survives as 'Groove Classic,' but the company's future is Helply.

$1/ticket (Helply), with a 250-ticket/month minimum and ~$3,000/year contract floor; Groove Classic historically started around $29/user/month
Yellow.ai logo

Yellow.ai

3.5

A $500M-valuation enterprise conversational AI platform spanning 35+ channels and 135+ languages, serving Sony and Volkswagen — with real, specific complaints about pricing opacity and WhatsApp number lock-in.

Not published; AWS Marketplace references $10,000/year (Basic) and $25,000/year (Standard)
Interakt logo

Interakt

3.4

A WhatsApp-first commerce platform from Haptik's co-founder, with AI Agents powered by Haptik's enterprise AI and a genuinely deep Shopify order-lookup capability.

₹999/mo (~$12 USD), Starter tier, excluding 18% GST
Kayako logo

Kayako

3.3

A 2001-vintage helpdesk relaunched under private-equity ownership as a pay-per-resolution AI agent, with the seat-based product it used to be quietly folded underneath.

$1 per AI-resolved ticket
Ultimate.ai (acquired by Zendesk — now Zendesk AI Agents) logo

Ultimate.ai (acquired by Zendesk — now Zendesk AI Agents)

3.2

A well-regarded Helsinki/Berlin AI service-automation platform, cleanly acquired by Zendesk in 2024 and folded into Zendesk AI Agents — no longer purchasable as an independent product, and much of its historical documentation is hard to independently verify.

Not publicly disclosed (historical); now part of Zendesk AI Agents pricing
Wati logo

Wati

3.2

A well-funded, Shopify-backed WhatsApp AI platform with genuinely strong commerce capability — undermined by a serious, repeated pattern of billing and cancellation complaints.

$60/mo (Growth, annual; $70/mo monthly) or ₹999 one-time pay-as-you-go
AiSensy logo

AiSensy

3.2

A budget WhatsApp Business API platform claiming 150,000+ businesses on essentially bootstrapped funding — genuinely affordable, genuinely narrower than its omnichannel competitors.

₹1,500/mo (~$18 USD), Basic, unlimited users
Bird (formerly MessageBird) logo

Bird (formerly MessageBird)

3.0

A once-$800M-funded Dutch omnichannel giant that rebranded from MessageBird to Bird in 2024, cut prices to undercut Twilio, then cut 120 jobs a year later — with real, documented complaints about accounts being blocked without notice.

$0 (Pay-as-you-go, per-message billing, e.g. ~$0.0033/outbound US SMS)